.


Graduate Academic Program Information

.

Please reference the academic program's website for instructions, deadlines and additional requirements listed. Departments take many considerations into account to determine admission decisions. Contact the academic department directly if you have questions about the application process, admission requirements, or deadlines.

Important Note: The column marked "TOEFL" is for students who are not native speakers of English. All graduate students whose first language is not English must meet the English lange proficiency requirement. Additional information can be found at http://www.pdx.edu/admissions/english-language-proficiency-requirements-graduate

.

Academic ProgramContactEmailMinimum GPA Test ScoresTOEFLProgram
Deadlines

.

AnthropologyConnie Cashcashc@pdx.edu3.25 in Anth classes; 3.0
overall
GRE required*see PSU Requirement September/Fall Intake: Feb 1

.

http://www.anthropology.pdx.edu/gradapp.php

.

Applied Linguistics (TESOL)Jady Batesjady@pdx.edu3.0 overallNo GRE requiredIBT TOEFL: 100 min

Fall Intake: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/linguistics/admissions-1

.

ArchitectureChristy Corlarchitecture@pdx.edu2.75 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/architecture/apply

.

ArtKaren Hensleyaskmfa@pdx.edu2.75 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/the-arts/graduate-admission

.

BiologyAmy Jolsteadamyj@pdx.edu2.75 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/biology/application-instructions-and-materials-0

.

Business Administration: MBAKelley Doherty/Pamela Dusscheegradadmissions@sba.pdx.edu3.00 overallGMAT required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: Nov 1, Feb 1, May 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/gradbusiness/

.

Business Administration: International ManagementKelley Doherty/Pamela Dusscheegradadmissions@sba.pdx.edu2.75 overallGMAT required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: Nov 1, Feb 1, May 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/gradbusiness/

.

Business Administration: Financial AnalysisKelley Doherty/Pamela Dusscheegradadmissions@sba.pdx.edu2.75 overallGMAT required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: Nov 1, Feb 1, May 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/gradbusiness/

.

Business Administration: Real Estate DevelopmentKelley Doherty/Pamela Dusscheegradadmissions@sba.pdx.edu2.75 overallGMAT required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: Nov 1, Feb 1, May 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/gradbusiness/

.

Business Administration: Healthcare MBAKelley Doherty/Pamela Dusscheegradadmissions@sba.pdx.edu2.75 overallGMAT required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: Nov 1, Feb 1, May 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/gradbusiness/

.

Business Administration: Supply Chain and Logistics ManagementKelley Doherty/Pamela Dusscheegradadmissions@sba.pdx.edu2.75 overallGMAT required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: Nov 1, Feb 1, May 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/gradbusiness/

.

ChemistryTam Rankintam.rankin@pdx.edu2.75 overallGRE required (no minimum)*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/chem/apply-to-graduate-school

.

Communication StudiesLesa Chen/ Hallie Weintraublesa@pdx.edu & hallie2@pdx.edu2.75 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/communication/grad-intro

.

Computer Science (master's and PhD)Sara Smithgccs@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE requiredMaster's: 550 min PhD: 600 minFall Intake: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/computer-science/graduate-admissions-information

.

Conflict ResolutionRobert Gouldgouldr@pdx.edu2.75 overallNo GRE requiredTOEFL: 100, IELTS: 7.0Fall Intake: February 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/conflict-resolution/node/10

.

Counselor Education:
Clinical Mental Health Counseling,
or School Counseling
Patrick Johnsongseinfo@pdx.edu2.75 overallGRE or MAT required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/coun/admissions-and-registration

.

Counselor Education: Rehabilitation Counseling ProgramHanoch Livnehgseinfo@pdx.edu2.75 overall, 3.0 for min. of 9 GR creditsGRE or MAT required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/coun/admissions-and-registration

.

Criminology and Criminal JusticeKathy Perrin/ Dr. Jody Sundtperrin@pdx.edu & sundt@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE recommended (placement in the top 50%)*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: April 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/hatfieldschool/criminology-and-criminal-justice-master-science

.

Earth, Environment, and SocietyAdam Fahertyenviron@pdx.edu2.75 UG, 3.0 GRGRE Required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: Jan 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/environment/applying-to-the-phd-program

.

EconomicsMargie Portmport@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE: 300 (verbal and quantitative combined) or GMAT: 520*see PSU Requirement Fall: April 1, Winter: Sept 1, Spring: Nov 1, Summer: Feb 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/econ/graduate

.

Education: Curriculum and InstructionMark Wallacegseinfo@pdx.edu3.0 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: August 15, Winter: November 15, Spring: February 15, Summer: May 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/ci/masters-degree-program-mams-admissions

.

Education: Elementary/Secondary Education (GTEP)Mark Wallacegseinfo@pdx.edu3.0 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Dec 1st - Summer

.

http://www.pdx.edu/ci/gtep-admissions

.

Education: Media & LibrarianshipRuth Murraygseinfo@pdx.edu3.0 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement see department website

.

http://www.pdx.edu/ceed/library-media-masters-degree-prerequisites-and-admissions

.

Education: Special EducationKris Smithgseinfo@pdx.edu2.75 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: June 1, Winter: October 1, Spring: April 1, Summer: May 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/sped/sped-masters-admissions

.

Educational Leadership & Policy: Educational Leadership (EdD)Stefanie Randolsrandol@pdx.edu3.4 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement See program website

.

http://www.pdx.edu/elp/educational-leadership-specialization

.

Educational Leadership & Policy: Executive Leadership & LicensureDavid Bikmangseinfo@pdx.edu3.0 overallNo GRE requiredPBT TOEFL: 575 minFall: November 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/sites/www.pdx.edu.elp/files/media_assets/gse_elp_edad__mplus_ial_application.pdf

.

Educational Leadership & Policy: Postsecondary & Continuing Adult Education (PACE) David Bikmangseinfo@pdx.edu3.0 overall for both undergrad and grad courseworkNo GRE requiredPBT TOEFL: 575 minFall: July 1, Winter: November 1, Spring: February 15, Summer: May 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/elp/pace-masters-degree-admissions

.

Engineering: Civil & Environmental (MEng)Megan Falconeceegrad@cecs.pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE not required*see PSU Requirement Fall - April 1 Winter - Sept 1 Spring - Nov 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/cee/GRapply

.

Engineering: Civil & Environmental (MS)Megan Falconeceegrad@cecs.pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall -First Monday of January, and April 1 Winter - Sept 1 Spring - Nov 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/cee/GRapply

.

Engineering: Civil & Environmental (PhD)Megan Falconeceegrad@cecs.pdx.eduBachelor's 3.0 overall, and Master's 3.25 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall -First Monday of January, and April 1 Winter - Sept 1 Spring - Nov 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/cee/GRapply

.

Engineering: Electrical and Computer Engineering (MS)Eliza Conlineceinfo@pdx.edu.2.75 overallGRE required (see website for more information)*see PSU Requirement Fall - February 1 Winter - August 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/ece/graduate-programs

.

Engineering: Electrical and Computer Engineering (Ph.D)Eliza Conlineceinfo@pdx.edu.3.0 overall
GRE required (see website for more information)*see PSU Requirement Fall - February 1 Winter - August 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/ece/graduate-programs

.

Engineering: Materials Science Engineering (MS)Molly Meyeradmissions@me.pdx.edu3.00 overallGRE not required, recommended for applicants with non-engineering bachelor's degrees*see PSU Requirement Fall: January 15 (priority) and May 1, SPring: December 1

.

http://www.me.pdx.edu/programs/grad/MSMSE/

.

Engineering & Technology Management (MS)Shawn Wallinfo@etm.pdx.eduUG: 2.75optional*see PSU Requirement Fall: March 1, Winter: July 1, Spring: September 1, Summer: December 1

.

http://www.etm.pdx.edu/new/programs.aspx#req

.

Engineering Management: Technology Management (PhD)Shawn Wallinfo@etm.pdx.eduUG: 3.0, GR: 3.25GRE Required: 200 verbal and quantitative combinedPBT TOEFL: 575 minFall: March 1, Winter: July 1, Spring: September 1, Summer: December 1

.

http://www.etm.pdx.edu/new/programs.aspx#req

.

Engineering: Mechanical Engineering (MEng/MS)Karen Heineadmissions@me.pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE not required, recommended for applicants with non-engineering bachelor's degrees*see PSU Requirement Fall: January 15 (priority) and May 1, SPring: December 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/mme/how-to-apply-0

.

Engineering: Mechanical Engineering (PhD)Karen Heineadmissions@me.pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: January 15 (priority) and May 1, SPring: December 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/mme/how-to-apply-0

.

English - Creative WritingMizuki Hisakagrdstudy@pdx.edu3.25 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 3

.

http://www.english.pdx.edu/Grad_New.php

.

English - LiteratureMizuki Hisakagrdstudy@pdx.edu3.25 in all English coursesGeneral GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 3

.

http://www.english.pdx.edu/Grad_New.php

.

English - Writing (Technical, Professional and Book Publishing)Mizuki Hisakagrdstudy@pdx.edu3.25 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: April 1, Winter: September 1, Spring: November 1

.

http://www.english.pdx.edu/Grad_New.php

.

Environmental Science and ManagementSherie Huffman/ Dr. Robert Schellerrmschell@pdx.edu /esmoffice@pdx.edu3.00 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/esm/prospective-grad-students

.

GeographyKarin Waller/Heejun Changgeog@pdx.edu2.75 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 15 (priority date) or April 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/geography/graduate-apply

.

GeologyAndrew FountainFountainA@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 15

.

http://geology.pdx.edu/Graduate

.

Health Studies, Health Education, Health PromotionBeth Bullbulle@pdx.edu3.0 overall; 2.75-3.0 consideredGRE required, MCAT can substitute*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/sch/online-applications-and-instructions

.

HistoryJeff Brownhist@pdx.eduGPA of 3.25 in history coursesGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: Febuary 15, Winter: September 1, Spring: November 1, Summer: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/history/ma-program-in-history

.

Mathematics: Mathematics Education (Ph.D.)Kathie Leckleck@pdx.edu2.75 overall, 3.0 for min. of 9 GR creditsGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: January 10, Winter: July 1, Spring: November 1, Summer: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/math/ph-d-mathematics-education

.

Mathematics: Mathematical Sciences (Ph.D.)Kathie Leckleck@pdx.edu2.75 overall, 3.0 for min. of 9 GR creditsGRE required: subject test in mathematics*see PSU Requirement Fall: January 10, Winter: July 1, Spring: November 1, Summer: February 1

.

http://www.mth.pdx.edu/programs/phd.asp

.

Mathematics (MA/MS)Kathie Leckleck@pdx.edu2.75 overall, 3.0 for min. of 9 GR creditsNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: January 10, Winter: July 1, Spring: November 1, Summer: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/math/ph-d-mathematical-sciences

.

Mathematics Teaching (MST/MAT)Kathie Leckleck@pdx.edu2.75 overall, 3.0 for min. of 9 GR creditsNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: January 10, Winter: July 1, Spring: November 1, Summer: February 1

.

http://www.mth.pdx.edu/programs/MS_admission.asp

.

Music (General, Performance, Conducting)Ron Babcockbabcocr@pdx.edu2.75 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: August 1, Winter: November 15, Spring: February 1, Summer: May 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/music/graduate

.

PhysicsAlex Christyachristy@pdx.edu2.75 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: March 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/physics/graduate-application-procedure

.

Political ScienceMegan Heljeson/ Sarah Wimmermeloos@pdx.edu & swimmer@pdx.edu3.00 overallGRE required: verbal above 50%*see PSU Requirement Fall: May 1, Spring: December 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/hatfieldschool/graduate-admission

.

PsychologyJulie Bilskibilskij@pdx.edu3.25 overallGRE required: all marks 65% or higher*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: December 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/psy/application-instructions

.

Public Administration: Health AdministrationMegan Loosmeloos@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE required: 299 combined score and an analytic score of 4.5*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1 (Priority), or April 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/hatfieldschool/application-guidelines

.

Public Administration: Health Management & PolicyMegan Loosmeloos@pdx.edu3.25 overallGRE required: 299 combined score and an analytic score of 4.5*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1 (Priority), or April 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/hatfieldschool/application-guidelines

.

Public Administration: Master of Public AdministrationMegan Loosmeloos@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE required: 299 combined score and an analytic score of 4.5*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: February 1 (Priority), or April 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/hatfieldschool/application-guidelines

.

Public Administration: Public Administration & Policy (PhD)Megan Loosmeloos@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/hatfieldschool/public-affairs-and-policy-phd-program

.

Social Work (MSW)Erika Gitchellerikag@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE or MAT recommended but not required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 3 (advanced standing) or February 3 (all other applicants)

.

http://www.pdx.edu/ssw/msw-admissions

.

Social Work & Social Research (PhD)Pauline Duffysswphd@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/ssw/admissions-phd-program

.

Sociology Bahar Jaberibhbj@pdx.edu3.0 overall, 3.75 is competitiveGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/sociology/graduate-programs

.

Speech & Hearing SciencesSusan Ginleysginley@pdx.edu2.75 overallGRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/sphr/admission-requirements

.

StatisticsKathie Leckleck@pdx.edu2.75 overall, 3.0 for min. of 9 GR creditsNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: February 1, Winter: July 1, Spring: November 1, Summer: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/math/ms-statistics

.

Systems Engineering (MS)Herman Miglioremiglioreh@pdx.edu3.0 upper division; 3.0 for 12+ grad creditsNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Contact Department

.

http://syse.pdx.edu/admit/

.

Systems Science (PhD)Wayne Wakelandwakeland@pdx.edu3.0 cumulative undergraduate GPA, 3.25 cumulative graduate GPAGRE required*see PSU Requirement see department website

.

http://www.pdx.edu/sysc/program-systems-science-phd-program

.

Theater ArtsKatie Sinbacksinback@pdx.edu2.75 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Fall: April 1, Winter: September 1, Spring: November 1, Summer: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/theatre-film/graduate-degrees-in-theater-arts

.

Urban Studies & Planning (Masters)Tracy Bradensusp@pdx.edu3.0 overall GRE recommended or required depending on program*see PSU Requirement Fall Intake: January 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/usp/masters-degrees-admissions

.

Urban Studies & Planning: Urban Studies & Regional Science (PhD)Tracy Bradentbraden@pdx.edu3.0 overallGRE requiredPBT TOEFL: approx. 600Fall Intake: January 15

.

http://www.pdx.edu/cupa/phd-admissions

.

World Languages and Literatures: French, German, Japanese, and SpanishAmanda Doddsadodds@pdx.edu3.0 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Spanish has fall intake only, others rolling. Fall: April 1. Winter: September 1, Spring: November 1, Summer: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/wll/node/282

.

World Languages and Literatures: Teaching French, German or SpanishAmanda Doddsadodds@pdx.edu3.0 overallNo GRE required*see PSU Requirement Spanish has fall intake only, others rolling. Fall: April 1. Winter: September 1, Spring: November 1, Summer: February 1

.

http://www.pdx.edu/wll/node/282